My 2nd Poem – “You Were”

…You Were…

You were the reason I’d live,
And the reason I’d Die.
The reason I wanted to smile,
The reason I’d break down and cry.

The first time I saw you,
I stared you in the eye.
You were all mine,
And that weren’t a lie.

You said you loved me,
You said I was yours.
Why would you say that?
Don’t you feel remorse?

I dunno what changed,
I dunno why it’s not like that any more.
Maybe it was me,
All I know is that it feels sore.

I‘m sitting here wondering, did you really care?
Did you even think of me when I wasn’t there?
I’m puzzled, Dazed, was I ever in your heart?
Or did you plan on using me from the very start?

As i’m writing this, alone and confused,
Is it that much to ask for,
Not to be used?

It’s time for me to move on,
Although I may never no.
Right now I’m all alone,
Ready to fade and go.

<3…
By Connor Conway

~ by C. Conway on June 1, 2008.

Leave a comment